Paolo Farinella Prize

The Paolo Farinella Prize is awarded annually at the Europlanet Science Congress (EPSC).

Paolo Farinella

The Paolo Farinella prize was established to honour the memory and the outstanding figure of Paolo Farinella (1953–2000), an extraordinary scientist and person, in recognition of significant contributions given in the fields of interest of Farinella, which span from planetary sciences to space geodesy, fundamental physics, science popularization, and security in space, weapons control and disarmament. The winner of the prize is selected each year on the basis of his/her overall research results in a chosen field, among candidates with international and interdisciplinary collaborations, not older than 47 years, the age of Farinella when he passed away on 25 March 2000. The prize was first proposed during the “International Workshop on Paolo Farinella the scientist and the man”, held in Pisa in 2010, supported by the University of Pisa and by IAPS-INAF (Rome).

The 10th “Paolo Farinella’’ Prize, 2020.

The 10th Paolo Farinella Prize will be awarded to a young scientist with outstanding contributions in the field of planetary science concerning “Structure, Physics and Dynamics of Giant Planets”, including work on the composition, atmospheric dynamics, and interior structure of giant planets inside or outside of our solar system. The award winner will be honoured during the Europlanet Science Congress (EPSC) 2020. It will also honor the outstanding scientific contributions of Adam Showman (1968-2020) who had accepted to be a member of the prize committee and passed away unexpectedly twenty years after Paolo Farinella.

The call is now closed. The winner(s) will be announced before EPSC 2020

For the 10th “Paolo Farinella” Prize the terms and rules are as follows:

  1. A competition is announced to award the “Paolo Farinella” Prize for the year 2020. The prize consists of a plate, a certificate and the amount of 1500 €. The winner is expected to give a Prize lecture during EPSC 2020.
  2. The winner will be selected on the basis of his/her overall research results in the field of “Structure, Physics and Dynamics of Giant Planets”.
  3. Nominations must be sent by email not later than May 15 to the following addresses:, and, using the downloadable form.
  4. The nominations for the “Paolo Farinella” Prize can be made by any researcher that works in the field of planetary sciences following the indications in the attached form. Self nominations are acceptable. The candidates should have international and interdisciplinary collaborations and should be not older than the age of Paolo when he passed away, 47 years, on May 15, 2020.
  5. The winner of the prize will be selected before June 20 by the “Paolo Farinella” Prize Committee composed of outstanding scientists in planetary sciences, with specific experience in the field.
  6. The Prize Committee will consider all the nominations, but will be entitled to autonomously consider other candidates.

Recipients of the Paolo Farinella Prize

20192018 |20172016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 |


the 9th Paolo Farinella Prize in 2019 was awarded to Scott Sheppard and Chad Trujillo for their contribution to the field of “Completing the Inventory of the Solar System”.

Citation and press release


The 8th Paolo Farinella Prize in 2018 was awarded to Francis Nimmo for his contribution to the field of “Giant planets’ satellite systems”.

Citation and Press release


The 7th Paolo Farinella Prize in 2017 was awarded to Simone Marchi for his contribution to the field of “Colliding worlds: A journey in time and space through the solar system”.

Citation and press release


The 6th Paolo Farinella Prize in 2016 was awarded to Kleomenis Tsiganis for his contribution to the field of “applications of celestial mechanics to the dynamics of planetary systems”.

Citation and press release


The 5th Paolo Farinella Prize in 2015 was awarded to Nicolas Biver for his contribution to the field of “dynamics and physics of comets”.

Citation and press release

2015 Paolo Farinella Prize winner, Nicolas Biver


The 4th Paolo Farinella Prize in 2014 was awarded to David Vokrouhlicky for his contribution to the field of “asteroid dynamics”.

Citation and press release



The 3rd Paolo Farinella Prize in 2013 was awarded to Patrick Michel for his contribution to the field of “collisional processes in the Solar System“




The 2nd Paolo Farinella Prize in 2012 was awarded to John Chambers for his contribution to the field of “formation and early evolution of the solar system”.


Press release

The inaugural Paolo Farinella Prize in 2011 was awarded to William F Bottke for his contribution to the field of “physics and dynamics of small solar system bodies”.

William Bottke receiving the Farinella Prize

The prize, which is now on its 6th edition, is supported by the University of Pisa, IAPS-INAF (Rome), IFAC/CNR (Firenze) and ASI.